Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

41 Chelmer St E
Chelmer, QLD, 4068

07 3379 5528


Latest News


Andrew Thomson

Sherwood Football Club (incorporating the Western Magpies) will celebrate 50 years of Senior Football this Saturday when the Magpies host Sandgate at McCarthy Homes Oval at Chelmer.

The Magpies are hosting a function after the match and have designed a Commemorative Guernsey with the  names of every person to have played or coached for the Pies in all senior grades of the club. The commemorative Guernsey will be worn by the Senior and Reserves players in Saturday’s match against Sandgate. The guernsey will be available for purchase at $100 each.


Sherwood Districts Australian Football Club formed in 1956 and played junior football until it was decided that there were so many players wanting to continue to play on that it was decided to field senior teams.

Sherwood formed a team in 1968 and played in the Metropolitan league as it was known then, finishing 5th in its first season and runners up the following year.

Sherwood joined the SQAFA when it was formed in 1970 and won the Premiership that season and again in 1973.

Sherwood then went on a Golden run to win eight premierships in a row from 1975 to 1982. The Reserves competition was formed in 1972 and Sherwood also won five premierships in the SQAFA.

Some of the great players  of that era were Rob Blank, Ziggy Mateja, Gary Glazebrook, Dennis Hogan,  Warren Selvage, who played in all 8 premierships and coached 2 of them, current Reserves coach Des Lashman who played in 6 premierships,  Greg Butler, Ian Anderson, Craig St John, Grogan Medallist and 7 time club captain Bill Peirce, 100 goal full forward Alan Giffard and 3x time club Best and fairest Steve Rippon.  Among the Pies coaches were VFL legends Les Foote and John Rantall , while Queensland legend Lindsay Jacob was regarded as one of the best coaches at the club. Club doyen Kevin Kluver also coached the club for a number of years.

Sherwood then joined the QAFL in 1983 and retained their Magpie moniker after a coin toss to decide with the Southport Magpies, now known as the Southport Sharks as a result.  The Magpies did not meet the same successes and in 1988 joined the Gold Coast league for 3 years.

In 1991 Sherwood and Western Districts amalgamated to form the West Brisbane and they won the 1996 QAFL premiership.

Sherwood Football Club were again fielded as a standalone side in 1999, but were now known as The Western Magpies  and played for 2 seasons in the Sth Qld League before promotion to the QAFL. The club was competitive without making finals and after 5 years, just as they were coming good, AFLQ decided to relegate the Magpies to QAFL Division 2 despite having 2 players drafted by the Brisbane Lions (Marty Pask and Pat Garner), 1 to St Kilda (Ed McDonell) and Reserves and Colts being regular finalists, including multiple Division 1 Colts Premierships and a Reserves Premiership, showing the club was building nicely.

The Magpies won Premierships at this level in 2006 and 2008 under Paul Grentell  and 2012 under Peter McClennan. There was a 2 year stint back in the QAFLState League in 2009-10 (which was at the time equivalent to the current NEAFL level) that was unsuccessful and the Pies reluctantly returned to the Pineapple Hotel Cup on the formation of the NEAFL in 2011.

Chris Mihalopoulos has played over 300 games for the Magpies and captained  the club for ten years for three premierships (likely close to 500 if you include junior games). Other players to shine during the early years of the Western Magpies were Michael Blackmore, Dean Parkin, Matt Taylor and Scott Hedley.  

With several ex-QAFL clubs dropping out of the NEAFL in 2014, the Magpies again joined the QAFL top level and have been successful since then without adding to the premiership list. The Pies have figured in the top 3 twice in 4 completed QAFL seasons and are now holding down fifth place on the ladder in a tight 2018 season.  More recent champions have been Val Pope (three time Bill Peirce medallist), Jim Rozynski, Tim McEvoy, Ed McDonnell, Ben Heffernan-Roper, Luke Scott and 2015 Grogan Medallist Callum Carseldine.

Of the current players skipper Drew Mitchell, 150 game player Ben Jaenke-Cain, Matt Davis, Lachlan Woods and Anthony Corrie are leading the Pies charge up the QAFL ladder

The Magpies have had 11 players picked or drafted to VFL/AFL clubs. 


1968 -- 5th Metropolitan League

1969 -- 2nd Metropolitan League


1971 -- 3rd SQAFA

1972 -- 3rd SQAFA

1973 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers in Under 17s

1974 -- 3rd SQAFA


1976 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers Reserves and Under 17s   

1977 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers in Thirds

1978 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers in Reserves and Under 17s.  

1979 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers in Reserves and Under 17s


1981 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers in Reserves and Under 17s  

1982 -- PREMIERS SQAFA, Premiers in Reserves

1983 -- 7th QAFL

1984 -- 8th QAFL

1985 -- 9th QAFL

1986 -- 5th QAFL

1987 -- 8th QAFL

1988 -- 6th Gold Coast AFL

1989 -- 5th Gold Coast AFL

1990 -- 3rd State Association

WEST BRISBANE  1991-1996

1991 –


1993 –Premiers --Under 17s

1994 –

1995. --  Premiers Under 17s

1996 -- PREMIERS QAFL, Premiers --Under 18s

1997 --

1998 –  Premiers --Under 18s


1999 -- 5th QSFL

2000 -- 5th AFL Sth Qld;  Premiers Under 18s

2001 -- 9th QAFL

2002 -- 9th QAFL

2003 -- 8th QAFL; Premiers Under 18s

2004 -- 8th QAFL

2005 -- 3rd SEQAFL Div 2;  Premiers Reserves and Under 18s

2006 -- PREMIERS SEQAFL Div 1, Premiers in Reserves

2007 -- Runners Up SEQAFL Div 1; Premiers in Reserves and Thirds


2009 -- 12th QAFL; Premiers Woodsmen

2010 -- 12th QAFL; Premiers in Under 18s

2011 -- 3rd SEQAFL Div 1;


2013 -- 3rd SEQAFL Div 1

2014 -- 8th QAFL; Premiers Woodsmen

2015 -- 4th QAFL;  Premiers in Under 17s 

2016 -- 3rd QAFL 

2017 -- 6th QAFL

Significant club history was lost in the 2011 floods, so unfortunately not all records are available as a result.