Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

41 Chelmer St E
Chelmer, QLD, 4068

07 3379 5528

Sci-Fleet - Reserves Match Preview

Latest News

Sci-Fleet - Reserves Match Preview

Andrew Thomson

The Western Magpies Reserves again look strong coming up against Wilston Grange at McCarthy Homes Oval at Chelmer today. The Magpies will be looking to maintain their momentum and will be looking to keep their season alive with another win to underline their good form.

The Pies in and out ledger is probably balanced out with big men Gerard Moore and Nathan Congram both missing with work commitments and midfielder Sam Denys unavailable. 

In are Brodie Easton and Brenton Saunders from the Seniors and forwards Jeremy DeRooy and Matt Mazarolle, both back in after being unavailable last week.

The Pies should win the midfield battles with Easton joining Logan Murray, Gareth Crawford and Lachie Dennis to form a high class foursome.  

Jack Austin and DeRooy provide the forward targets with the dangerous Val Pope and Saunders to prove troublesome for the Gorilla defenders.

Harry Marshall has returned to form and Kurt Vine's  attack on the football last week was superb and Peter Kilroy was, well, Peter Kilroy.

Coach Des Lashman will be stressing the need for another good start but also to win the third quarter, an area the Pies have struggled with this season. 

Again, the Pies will need to be switched on from the first bounce to ensure they put the Gorillas challenge to bed early and win to keep in touch with the top five.  


QAFL Round 15: Western Magpies Reserves v Wilson Grange at McCarthy Homes Oval, Chelmer on Saturday July 28th at 11.30 am. 

B:  Kurt Vine Harry Marshall Sam Hartog

HB: Zach Collison  Chris Hunt  Peter Kilroy

C:  Sean Mewing (Capt) Brodie Easton  Sean McEvoy (vc) 

HF:   Val Pope Jack Austin Brenton Saunders

F:  Sempitake Kwizera Jeremy DeRooy Sam Parker

Rucks: Monty Vine Logan Murray Gareth Crawford

I/C:  Tristan Dowdy, Matt Mazarolle, Lachie Dennis, Rory Johnson