Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

41 Chelmer St E
Chelmer, QLD, 4068

07 3379 5528

Latest News

BG12 10 Year Anniversary - Memorial Day - Sat July 15

Andrew Thomson


The Western Magpies will be holding “The BG Day” on Saturday July 15th when the Magpies host Morningside in a crucial QAFL encounter at Chelmer.


The BG Day is in memory of Brett Gwyther, who passed awayfrom an aggressive form of cancer at 24 years of age 10 years ago in January 2007.

BG was a cherished and loved member of the Sherwood and Western Magpies Football Club. BG loved his footy and he loved the family atmosphere at the Sherwood/Western Magpies Football Club, which became his second home. He worked hard at his own game and gave up his time to help the future stars of the club by coaching the Sherwood U8's.

Brett "BG" Gwyther first came to the club in 1999. He enjoyed U18 premiership success in 2000 before joining the senior ranks in 2001 for the club's first year back in the AFLQ competition. In 2006, just 4 months before his tragic death, BG was an integral part of the 2006 premiership success against Noosa Football Club at Carrara Stadium. In the 2007 preseason (late 2006) he was leading the time trials and beep tests but in late November he started to become fatigued and a medical check up revealed he had an aggressive cancer which was to take his life a mere 2 months later.

BG was renowned for his fearless attack on the football and courage on the ground where he would not hesitate to back into a rampaging pack coming at him. He was hard but fair on the field and his tackling was fearless.

One of the most prestigious awards at the Western Magpies is “The BG Award”, which is awarded to the player who has followed the example of BG in his attack on the ball and courage on the ground, putting the team ahead of himself. It also acknowledges the courage and tenacity Brett showed in the last months of his life

The BG Award winners since inception have been:

2007—Jim Rozynski; 2008—Tim McEvoy; 2009—Luke Scott; 2010—Gerard Moore; 2011- Dom Beer; 2012—Tim McEvoy; 2013—Anthony Corrie; 2014—Doug Lawrence;  2015—Cal Carseldine; 2016—Matthew Sondergeld.

The day is one of remembrance for BG with club President Mark Blackberry welcoming past players and officials to the day from 12 noon. There will be a minutes silence before the Senior match at 1.45 pm then after the senior game a player from both clubs will be announced as BG Award winners for the match.

Wrist bands will be for sale for $10 and a signed Guernsey –Richmond or Hawthorn—will be raffled with profits to be shared between the Cancer Council and the club, with some funds to be used to help pay for the club’s proposed honour boards, one of which will be for “The BG Award”.