Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

41 Chelmer St E
Chelmer, QLD, 4068

07 3379 5528

Harvey Norman Oxley - Round 3 Reserves Preview

Latest News

Harvey Norman Oxley - Round 3 Reserves Preview

Andrew Thomson

The Western Magpies Reserves depth will be tested with a number of players promoted to the Seniors, injured or unavailable due to the Easter weekend but will welcome back the consistent and classy Chris Hunt, the classy Lachie Dennis and 194 game player Sean McEvoy to bolster the defence. The Pies have been forced to make 7 changes to the side that won last week with four promoted to the seniors and another 3 players out.   The fact the Pies can name 2 sides with about 15  players out from last week in both grades and another 4 players missing from long term injury is a sign of strong depth.

That said Jesse Hampel up forward will be better for the run last week after an extended lay off as will Joel Workman , who was good last week and will be a key player across half forward. Matt Mazarolle marked well last week and will need to be a strong forward target

Gabe McKinnon will pinch hit in ruck and Rory Johnson was back to his best form last week. Jordan Bonney has paid back coach Kiran Verma’s confidence he can do the job in the centre with strong play and his stocks are rising 

The Pies are a young team with a smattering of experience and will need to be at their best to defeat Grange on their home ground but last week’s win will give them confidence going into the match.


 QAFL Round 3: Western Magpies v  Wilston Grange at Hickey Park, Stafford  on Good Friday, April 19th at 10.30 am. (Note earlier start). 

B:  Aiden D'Roza Harry Marshall  Zac Collison  

HB:   Sean McEvoy , Hamish Campbell, Charlie Thorpe 

C: Deng Arok Jordan Bonney Cade Scott

HF:  Joel Workman Matthew Mazarolle  Chris Jenkins

F:  Lachie Dennis Jesse Hampel  Isaac Bongaarts 

Ruck:   Gabe McKinnon 

            Rory Johnson

Rover:   Will Woodburn

Int: Chris Hunt, Harrison Radcliffe, Ethan Sivijs, Dan Edwards